What is it based on…

Advonet is celebrating the recently won Quality Performance Mark (QPM) as well as the QPM IMCA awards. These are the nationally recognised robust standards to test the quality of independent advocacy provision.It is based on the Advocacy Charter’s nine principles of:

  • Clarity of Purpose
  • Independence
  • Person Centred Approach
  • Empowerment
  • Equal Opportunity
  • Accessibility
  • Supporting Advocates
  • Accountability
  • Confidentiality

It also assesses the organisation’s policies and processes on Complaints and Safeguarding.
For each of these principles we provided evidence of how we met the standards by answering 91 questions set out in a booklet. In addition to this other policies were also studied and anonymised case files reviewed.
The IMCA award was assessed on 73 questions around:

  • Accessible Service
  • Speed of Response and Prioritisation Criteria
  • Clarity of the IMCA Role
  • Casework Practice and Policies
  • Quality of IMCA Reports
  • Engagement with External Stakeholders
  • Training and Supervision of IMCAs
  • Safeguarding

The assessor also looked at other criteria such as the quality and information on our referrals form and report template as well as studying anonymised reports.
The whole process took several months to complete – so well done to everyone in Advonet!
It’s great to know everything we do is to a high standard, this gives us a pride in what we do and our clients, commissioners and other stakeholders can have confidence in our services.